Facebook Instagram Issuu
Privacy Policy Terms and Conditions


Henning Larsen Architects – First Ever Monograph

Share on facebook

After more than half a century at the forefront of Danish design, Henning Larsen Architects now releases their first ever monograph, It Begins with Curiosity. The book dives deep into their  legacy as a studio, recent works, and outlooks, charting a course towards a more livable and sustainable future.

It Begins with Curiosity defines the mindset the Studio  have retained over 60 years of practice: a respect for context, community, and a desire to infuse each project with the knowledge. It is an essential approach unchanged even in a changing world.

We see our responsibility in architecture as one that is expanding, states CEO Mette Kynne Frandsen and Partner and Design Principal Louis Becker in the book’s opening studio statement:

“…where once we were builders, now we are also conductors of a vast and technical orchestra, directing all pieces to play in harmony. In the future we anticipate, we add a new critical responsibility: to be representatives of our shared sustainable future.”

The book concentrates its focus on twelve recent works spanning a breadth of scale, typology, and location.

Among them are the EU Mies 2013 winner Harpa Concert Hall and Conference Center in Reykjavík, the French International School of Hong Kong, Eystur Town Hall in the Faroe Islands, the Carl H. Lindner College of Business in Cincinnati, OH, and the Siemens Headquarters in Munich. These works have drawn on the full expertise of the office, from landscape and design to construction, sustainability, and more. Project descriptions and insights from studio leadership,

alongside essays by Kent Martinussen of the Danish Architecture Center and architectural historian Hans Ibelings, offer unprecedented insight into our studio’s legacy of community-focused design.

The book’s release coincides with Henning Larsens  60-year anniversary, an occasion also highlighted by the reception of the European Prize for Architecture by the Chicago Athenaeum in August 2019.

Share on facebook